The CanVasc website     

English - French

  Home   |    About CanVasc   |   Vasculitides   |   Ongoing studies   |  Meetings  |    Tools for physicians      Links

CanVasc Objectives

CanVasc was officially founded November 1st, 2010, in Toronto. CanVasc is a non-profit scientific network.
The proposed CanVasc objectives are to:
  1. organize and maintain a dedicated clinical and research network, with identification of referral (multidisciplinary) centers across Canada to optimize the care of patients with vasculitis. The establishment and regular updates of recommendations for the diagnostic and therapeutic management of patients are part of the tasks of the participating centers.
  2. initiate, conduct, and promote studies (epidemiological, observational, fundamental and, ultimately, therapeutic) on vasculitis (from CanVasc, VCRC, other vasculitis research groups or industry) across Canada, using an efficient, established and rapidly mobilisable network. 
  3. develop educational and awareness programs for health care providers (training sessions, fellowships, meetings. educational materials).
  4. stand as the Canadian referral and advisory group to identify needs in vasculitis, consider and support (new) drug approvals for vasculitis in Canada.


CanVasc core members




CanVasc administrative board

(elected for 4 years - maxi. 2 successive rotations)


2014-2018 and 2018-2022:

President and founder: Dr. Christian Pagnoux

Vice-president and co-founder: Dr. Nader Khalidi

Secretary: Dr. Lillian Barra

Past president and co-founder: Dr. Simon Carette

Past Vice-president and founder: Dr. Christian Pagnoux

Past Secretary and co-founder: Dr. Nader Khalidi

CanVasc office:


Division of Rheumatology
Mount Sinai Hospital
60 Murray Street,  Ste 2-220

Toronto, Ontario  M5T 3L9

Tel. 416-586-4800 Ext. 8549 or 5519

E-mail: or


CanVasc core members




Principal core members

Associated members



Dr. Christian Pagnoux;

Dr. Rae Yeung (Peds)

Dr. Simon Carette;

Dr. Heather Reich (Nephro);

Dr. Damien Noone (Ped. Nephro);

Dr. Medha Soowamber;

Dr. Michael Seidman (Path.)


Dr. Nader Khalidi

Dr. Michael Walsh;

Dr. Gerard P. Cox;

Dr. Parameswaran Nair;

Dr. Sankalp Bhavsar (Burlington)


Dr. Nataliya Milman

Dr. Shaun Kilty (ENT);
Dr. Todd Fairhead (Nephr.);
Dr. Nha Voduc (Respi.);


Dr. Marie Clements-Baker

Dr. Michel Melanson (Neuro.);

Dr. Sara Moran (Nephr.);

Dr. Tanveer Towheed


Dr. Lillian Barra

 Dr. Joanne Jiang

 Dr. Susan Huang (Nephr.)


Dr. Leilani Famorca



Dr. Carter Thorne

Dr. Nooshin Samadi



Dr. Patrick Liang

Dr. Ariel Masetto;
Dr. Guylaine Arsenault


Dr. Jean-Paul Makhzoum (UoM);

Dr. Christian Pineau (McGill)

Dr. Arielle Mendel (McG);

Dr. Evelyne Vinet (McG);

Dr. Yves Troyanov (UoM);

Dr. Eric Rich (UoM);

Dr. Sonia Brachémi (UoM);

Dr. Maxime Rhéaume  (UoM);

Dr. Michelle Goulet  (UoM)


Dr. Judith Trudeau

Dr. David Philibert (Nephr.);

Dr. Renée Leclerc (méd. interne);

Dr. Paul Fortin (Qbc)


Trois Rivieres

Dr. Clode Lessard

Dr. Frédéric Morin

Nova Scotia


Dr. Volodko Bakowsky;

Dr. Christine Dipchand

Dr Colm McParland (Resp.)

British Columbia


Dr. Natasha Dehghan;

Dr. David Cabral (Peds)

Dr. Daniel Ennis;

Dr. John Esdaile;

Dr. Kim Morishita (Peds);

Dr. Kam Shojania;

Dr. Navjot Dhindsa (Surrey)

Dr. Barry Kassen;

Dr. Chery Mammen (Ped Nephr);

Dr. Pearce Wilcox

    Victoria Dr. Corisande Baldwin  



Dr. Elaine Yacyshyn;

Dr. Dax G. Rumsey (Peds)

Dr. Alison Clifford;

Dr. JW Cohen Tervaert


Dr Aurore Fifi-Mah

Dr. Susan Benseler (Peds)

Dr Diane Mosher;

Dr. Marinka Twilt (Peds);

Dr Charlene Fell (Resp.) ;

Dr. Louis-Philippe Girard (Nephr.)



Dr. David Robinson




Dr. Regina Taylor-Gjevre

Dr. Bindu Nair;

Dr. Jim Barton (Nehpr.);

Dr. Julian Midgley (Nephr. Peds)


Saint John's

Dr. Majed Khraishi


Download the updated and complete list of Principal Core, Associated and Affiliated members by clicking HERE


CanVasc Regular members

Regular members are defined as physicians other than those listed as core/associated/affiliated members, as well as any other health care providers with interest in vasculitis. Regular membership is voluntary, free and does not imply anything. You may receive some occasional information by email on the CanVasc meetings or studies, or invitation to participate to surveys on vasculitis and/or CanVasc activities. You will not receive any unsollicited mailing from other companies or groups. 


Registering as regular member is simple: just send us an email ( ), specifying your name, surname, profession, address AND full affiliations. 

Support CanVasc!

To support the ongoing CanVasc, its research and educational programs, you may send donations to:

Sinai Health Foundation

Mount Sinai Hospital (attn: Chris Adamson)

CanVasc (Dr. C Pagnoux) Vasculitis Clinic RES Fund

600 University Avenue

Toronto,Ontario M5T 3L9

Additional Information on CanVasc and Contact

For more information, feel free to contact us at



This Web Page was updated the 8 Aug 2021 by Dr Christian Pagnoux